The South Carolina State Transport Police (STP) is the sole law enforcement division in South Carolina for enforcing both federal regulations and state laws pertaining to commercial motor vehicles. Our officers work throughout South Carolina’s 46 counties, patrolling all our highways and interstates for unsafe commercial motor vehicles and commercial drivers, as well as all unsafe vehicles to help protect the public daily.
STP officers work hand-in-hand with all divisions of the Department of Public Safety, including the Highway Patrol and the Bureau of Protective Services. STP also works in close partnership with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Federal Highway Administration, other state and local law enforcement agencies.
Although STP officers specialize in commercial motor vehicle enforcement, they also enforce state traffic laws for non-commercial drivers regularly.
Why choose the State Transport Police?
There are many reasons why you should choose the State Transport Police:
- Higher starting salaries
- Robust state benefits package
- Career opportunities in specialized units
- Living in South Carolina
State Transport Police Overview
The State Transport Police officers work throughout South Carolina’s 46 counties, patrolling all our highways and interstates for unsafe commercial motor vehicles and commercial drivers, as well as all unsafe vehicles to help protect the public daily. Through our many permanent scale facilities and all of our roadside enforcement efforts, STP conducts on average 50,000 to 60,000 inspections per year. Out of these enforcement efforts, more than 14,000 unsafe vehicles and drivers are removed from our roadways each year. STP is divided into six Regions across South Carolina, as well as a Special Operations Unit and the Motor Carrier Compliance Unit. You can read more about STP here.
Basic Requirements for an STP Officer
- At least 21 years of age before day one of Basic Training
- You must have a valid South Carolina Driver's License or a valid Driver's License from your current State
- US Citizen
- High School Diploma or GED
- 20/20 vision OR no more than 20/200, corrected to 20/100 or below
- NO CRIMINAL RECORD
- Driving record should be clear of any suspension for the last 5 years as a result of alcoholic beverage or dangerous drug violation, or leaving the scene of an accident. The overall driving record will be evaluated placing emphasis on the severity, date and age, time span, and number of violations accumulated.


